General Skilled Visa:

Australia has a well-managed and effective general skilled migration program. Australia accepts more than 100,000 skilled migrants where general skilled migration contributes more than 50% of total intake. Currently these levels are reduced due to Covid-19 situation.

It’s a point based system where points are awarded on applicant’s age, qualification, work experience, language abilities, relative or state nomination and other relevant factors. It’s a program designed for qualified professionals, who have skills required in Australia.

Skill Select System :

General skilled migration program is managed through ‘Skillselect System’. Aspiring migrants lodge an expression of interest first and must meet basic requirements to be able to lodge an ‘Expression of Interest’ i.e. ‘EOI’. Successful applicants are then invited to lodge a visa application

Threshold Point Score:

Applicant needs to score a threshold of 60 points to be eligible for the migration under general skilled stream.
There are three Visa categories in general skilled migration program.

  1. Subclass 189 Visa
  2. Subclass 190 Visa
  3. Subclass 491 Visa
Basic Requirements

There are basic requirements for all three visa subclasses under general skilled migration. These requirements include age, English level competency, work experience, skill assessment etc. Contact us for a detailed consultation regarding these visas.

Subclass 189 Visa:

It is a permanent visa which allows holders to remain in Australia indefinitely. There are unlimited work rights under this visa and holder can apply for Australian citizenship after meeting residence and other relevant requirements. There is no relative or state sponsorship under this subclass. Applicant must choose an occupation from ‘Skilled Occupation List’ only for this occupation.

Subclass 190 Visa : 

It is also a permanent visa as subclass 189. However, applicant is nominated by a state or territory under ‘State Migration Plan’. Applicant must be nominated by a participating state or territory before applicant can apply for visa. Applicant nominates an occupation from participating state’s occupation list under this visa subclass. A participating state’s or territory’s list may have more occupation than the ‘Skilled Occupation List’.

Subclass 491 visa:

It is a temporary visa which is granted for five years. Applicant can apply for permanent residency after three years and meeting residence and work related requirements. A state and / or a relative can sponsor applicant for this visa.

Have Questions? Get in Touch

GHD Building, Level 10,
68 Grenfell St.

Adelaide, SA 5000

P: +61-8-7225 5561
P: +61 433 973 480

Let's Talk